UQ academics recognised by the Australian Academy of Humanities

25 November 2022

The Australian Academy of Humanities have elected three new Fellows, one Honorary Fellow and two Council Members from The University of Queensland.  

Professors Clint BracknellDeborah Brown, and Felicity Meakins have been elected as Fellows of the Academy.

UQ’s Chancellor Peter Varghese AO was elected an Honorary Fellow, and Emeritus Professors Fred D’Agostino and Joanne Tompkins have been appointed as members of the Academy’s Council.

The Academy’s fellowship recognises the work and vital contributions of outstanding humanities researchers and leaders across the Australian cultural, creative and research sectors.

Election to the Academy is the highest honour of achievement in humanities in Australia, with 37 new members appointed this year after a rigorous peer assessment process.

The Academy aims to encourage excellence and provide expertise and advice at public, institutional and government levels.


  • Professor Clint Bracknell – for work in musicology, linguistics, Australian studies, innovation in Indigenous music and the revitalisation of Indigenous languages.
  • Professor Deborah Brown – for work in early modern philosophy of science, including work on non-human minds, the nature of pain and the philosophical foundations of women’s rights.
  • Professor Felicity Meakins – for work in linguistics, Northern Territory Aboriginal languages, including traditional languages, as well as newer contact varieties.

Honorary Fellow:

  • Chancellor Peter Varghese AO – for contributions to the cultural and creative life of the nation as Chancellor and former DFAT Secretary, international affairs commentator and advisor.

Council Members:

  • Emeritus Professor Fred D’Agostino FAHA – Emeritus Professor of Humanities, where he has undertaken numerous senior roles including President of the Academic Board, Executive Dean of Arts and served two terms on the University Senate.
  • Emeritus Professor Joanne Tompkins FAHA – Emeritus Professor of Theatre Studies. For recognition of her work in spatial theories and virtual reality; multicultural theories and drama; intercultural performance and feminist performance.