Recognition for tomorrow’s leaders

26 February 2019

Two University of Queensland students have been recognised by the Westpac Scholars Trust as some of Australia’s brightest and most innovative young leaders.

Today Matthew Page and Sachithrani Umanda Madugalle join 15 other outstanding postgraduate students from universities across the country as 2019 Westpac Future Leaders Scholars; being awarded over $2 million to investigate solutions to some of our nations’ most complex issues.

Through his passion for world politics, governance, diplomacy and policy, UQ International Relations student Mr Page will use his scholarship to better connect Australian businesses, communities and government to what he believes are tremendous opportunities available throughout Asia.

“I firmly believe that further engagement with the region will not only yield economic benefits but help Australia become a more cohesive and prosperous multicultural nation,” he said.

Each scholarship recipient will receive up to $120,000 to cover their postgraduate studies, a nine- month bespoke leadership development program and the opportunity to study abroad.

“The scholarship is an opportunity for me to pursue my passion for international relations in the Asia-Pacific and gain an academic and professional background in foreign policy development,” Mr Page said.

“It also provides an excellent opportunity to connect with like-minded, driven individuals across a wide variety of industries and academic fields.”

Westpac Scholars Trust CEO Susan Bannigan said this is a prestigious scholarship program attracting inspiring individuals determined to solve some of Australia’s biggest problems.

“Amongst our 2019 recipients we have doctors, teachers, engineers and an aspiring neuroscientist - all working on research projects that have the potential to shape our future,” she said.

Beyond the financial investment of the scholarship, every Westpac Future Leaders Scholar gains lifelong access to the Westpac 100 Scholars Network.

Growing by 100 scholars a year across the Westpac Scholars Trust’s five scholarship programs, the network connects a community of people from all walks of life with the ideas and drive to help shape a better future for all Australians.

“The Westpac 100 Scholars Network is proving to be a powerful differentiator for our Scholarship Program.

“With lifelong access to professional development and unlimited networking opportunities, scholars have the power to transform big ideas into real solutions,” Ms Bannigan said.

The Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship is offered in partnership with The University of Adelaide, The Australian National University, The University of Melbourne, Monash University, The University of Queensland, The University of Sydney, University of Tasmania, University of New South Wales and University of Western Australia.

It is one of five scholarships offered through the Westpac Scholars Trust, which awards 100 scholarships every year, forever.