Award for UQ's budding science communicators

4 August 2021
(L-R) Queensland Chief Scientist Professor Hugh Possingham, Dr Yaqoot Fatima, Professor Matthew Davis, Dr Aideen McInerney-Leo, Dr Fabio Costa, Professor Bronwyn Harch and Ms Jonty Bush MP.

Pharmacist, Epidemiologist and Sleep Scientist Dr Yaqoot Fatima from the Institute for Social Science Research joins two fellow UQ researchers recognised for their efforts to improve science literacy at the 2021 Queensland Young Tall Poppy Science Awards. 

Her research involves translating clinical and population research evidence to inform health policy, improve sleep health literacy, empower people to practice sleep hygiene, and improve access to specialist sleep services in rural, remote and Indigenous populations.

Read more